Donda

One of my new years resolutions was to focus on writing more reviews on this blog and to stray away from negative rants against Kanye West.  A friend of mine told me that Kanye was indeed moving to Europe and I was happy.  I thought maybe he would slow down.  settle into the background.  I met my aunt this morning for coffee at a local Starbucks and had an insightful conversation about the things that hold me back in life, my own neurosis and striving to recognized myself as a talented human being who is deserving of the gifts that are presented to myself in this life.  I signed onto facebook this afternoon and read a quote from rumi which validated all of these thoughts and insights.  Then I saw that Kanye West had gone on a twitter rant and I realized that I can change many things in my life but hating on Kanye is not one of them.

Here are a few of the kanye tweets forwarded to me by my friend hannah:

More clarity… I have no agency representing me currently… William Morris was fired after Cara lewis quit. I love Cara Lewis.
Good logic tells me smile Kanye… the world likes you again… red or blue pill? … aaaaand Swallow lol
….hmmmmm what to wear… here I go again… Yeezy the trend setter or complete fucking fashion victim … the verdict is still out
What good is fame and prestige if you can’t use it to help people… I want to help by doing what I know how to do best .. create
I have started a new company and I’m so excited about the name…. it’s got the best name ever of all companies of all time!!!…. DONDA!!
This will all take time but I wanted everyones to know what I really care about… I care about people. I care about my fans..
Help education. School systems were designed to turn people into factory workers. Schools should be designed to prep human beings for real life. Math classes should teach addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, accounting and money management aaaaaand cut!!!
UNLESS YOU’RE A MATH MAJOR!!!! Kids you should be able to take majors starting in grammar school like how it is at performing art schools
Instead of kicking kids out of schools for using there iPhones… why not promote it? Allow kids to use search engines to do tests like the real WORLD!!!
Some kids have better memories than others… what about emotional IQs… what about kids who do bad in school because of how bad there surroundings are.
I know this is not a very rapper thing to say but I haven’t bought a new car or piece of jewelry in about 2 years…

I believe that everyone is entitled to their thoughts.  Social media provides an outlet to spread anything you think with the click of a button.  Most celebrities have people around them have hired help monitoring their social media outbursts.  It may be a ploy to garner attention for his new design company Donda, named after his mother, but I actually respect the fact that Kanye’s ego is so big that he doesn’t employ such help.  Have you ever been texted 20 times in a row from an ex?  In the texter’s mind they are just communicating their feelings to you, letting you know how much they hurt by sending you message after message.  In your mind you just got 20 texts from a nutcase and now you are validated in the fact that you broke up with their crazy ass.  Kanye basically texted the world 50 times in a row with nonsense.  Another sad part is that I agree with most of what he says.  Whats even sadder is that he does not comprehend his contribution to the systems he rants against.  I was interviewed on a radio show late last year and one of the hosts brought up a good point.  Kanye raps about where he is in life and critiques the flashy world around him.  What Kanye doesn’t do is challenge himself to transcend the world he hates so much.  He talks about dumb girls in the club but that’s who he fucks with.  The contradictions are difficult to ignore.  He hasn’t bought a new car or piece of jewelry in years yet he promotes a lavish lifestyle.  I don’t care if you haven’t bought anything because you’ve been busy selling me bullshit.   At his core I think Kanye is a decent human being (man that left a sour taste in my mouth) but I don’t think he is an honest human being.  This is not his fault.  He does not posses the necessary tools to be honest with himself.  I admire him for being so open and honest with his immediate thoughts.  I do the same thing with poetry.  I allow myself to be vulnerable for a moment.  What Kanye does is different.  He bombards you with himself and tells you its about you…he loves people…that’s what he cares about…what I think he really cares about is people caring about him.  I understand this….I have some of the same shit in my world….we all seek attention and acceptance.  What do you value?  What do you wish to change in this world?  Is it more for yourself or is it truly for humankind as a whole?  I think everyone should write a twitter rant like Kanye did.  You don’t have to send it out…just free write for a moment.  2012 is full of possibility and wonder.   I hate Kanye West but I admire his separation from reality.  I appreciate an aspect of his selfishness.  Be selfish for a moment today.  “treat yo self” Write some crazy shit and don’t care who reads it.  Live like Kanye for a day but in an honest way.  

5 thoughts on “Donda

  1. Ashlee says:

    Another awesome article…stick to your passion, negative or not.

  2. nico says:

    “Instead of kicking kids out of schools for using there iPhones… why not promote it? Allow kids to use search engines to do tests like the real WORLD!!!” this is utterly completely moronic

  3. serenity2022 says:

    Just LIke a Prayer,
    You’re blog took me there…

  4. Camille Jones says:

    ♪ ♫Treat Yo Self 2011 ♪ ♫ HI-LARRY-US

  5. NINA says:

    Write about his relationship with Kim Kardashian!

Leave a Reply

